Is Sour Patch Kids Vegan?

Among all the sweet candies, sour patch kids are sour candy. A person with a sour tooth can indulge themselves in this sour candy. Why should only kids have fun! Some adults love some of the candy too.  

But if you are a vegan the question comes if sour patch kids are vegan. A vegan diet does not allow food that contains an animal product. Sour patch kids may or may not contain the animal product. Let’s dive in to know are sour patch kids vegan.

Best Vegan Shampoo

What are sour patch kids?

Sour patch kids are a chewy textured candy that comes in various fruit flavors. It’s chewy and sour which is best for someone who loves sour stuff.  

Candies in general have a lot of sugar in it. So if you are conscious about health it’s the last thing to give your kids and yourself.  

But we need some of these types of food for a bad day to overcome our overwhelming emotions. Here is the list of ingredients sour patch kids are made of. This will give you an idea of what you are putting inside your body.

  • Sugar
  • Corn syrup
  • Modified corn starch
  • Tartaric acid
  • Citric acid
  • Natural and artificial flavor
  • invert sugar

None of these ingredients look like animal products at all. But some of them are problematic ingredients.

Problematic means there are vegan options for these ingredients but the company only knows if those are vegan.

are sour patch kids vegan?

Generally, soft and chewy candies are made of gelatin. And we all know gelatin is not vegan most of the time. There is no plant-based replacement of gelatin. If a food contains gelatin then it’s straightforward no vegan food. So, we can say, Sour Patch Kids are not vegan.

But the ingredients of sour patch kids says that it’s made with corn starch. So the chewy texture you experience is not from the gelatin. It’s actually from the corn starch. So this part is clear about the sour patch kids.  

What about the artificial flavors?

If you are a vegan for a long time, you might know that there is a big debate on artificial flavor. Some say it’s vegan some say it’s not. I say it’s dependent on you and how far you can go for veganism.  

As a vegan, you do not consume animal products. But would you do something that does not harm animals but it does? Artificial flavor like that. It’s mandatory to test artificial flavors on animals.  

The toxicity can harm humankind and that’s why it’s necessary. Now a company aware of this fact will not use artificial flavor. They will only use the natural one. But sour patch kids use both the artificial and natural colors.  

Is sugar vegan?

No, sugar is not always vegan. When the companies refine sugar they use cattle bone char which is collected from cows or pigs. There is a sugar that uses the activated carbon for refining sugar.  

Now the company of sour patch kids can only tell what kind of sugar they use. But the truth is the company does not care much about this issue. If they did, they would clarify what type of sugar they are using. This alone makes sour patch kids not okay for vegans.

Sour Patch Kids Vegan

Is sour patch watermelon kids vegan?

The ingredient list is pretty much the same as the original one. So if you are not okay with the original sour patch kids then you should not have this.  


Sour patch kids have sugar, natural flavorings, and artificial color. These are much controversial among the vegan community.

These can be vegan or can be animal-derived. Also, some non-strict vegan can be okay with the tiny amount of problems in this candy.  

So it’s on you to decide if you want some sour patch kids. And it’s also high time the manufacturer responds to the customers about their product.  


Best Vegan Shampoo

Also read:

Similar Posts