Is Rice Krispies vegan?

When you are a vegan the search for vegan-friendly food never ends. It becomes a little more frustrating when you are a new vegan. Because everything you used to eat but never noticed is not vegan.

It’s hard to tell most of the time if something contains an animal product or not. But the journey is more rewarding than the hardship you face.

You are maybe curious about the Rice Krispies. Is it vegan or not? Let’s find out about Rice Krispies. 

Best Vegan Shampoo

What are the ingredients of Rice Krispies?

As a vegan, you have to remember to read ingredients all the time. It’s the best way to know if a product is vegan or not.

Here is the ingredient list of Rice Krispies. But remember it’s the ingredient of the US version Rice Krispies. Different countries may produce a different ingredient. 

  • Rice
  • Sugar
  • Salt
  • Barley malt flavoring
  • vitamins and minerals (niacin, iron, vitamin b6, vitamin b12, vitamin b1, folic acid, vitamin b12, vitamin D)
Rice Krispies

So, is Rice Krispies vegan?

Your favorite cereal is not vegan. All the other ingredients are somehow vegan but the problem is with vitamin D. the ingredient list does not specifically say if its vitamin D1, D2 or D3. It only says vitamin D. if you see the same type of ingredient listing stay away from that food as well.

Moreover, Rice Krispies parent Kellogg’s states on their website that their vitamin D3 is not from a vegan source. 

Why is vitamin D3 not vegan?

The companies try to hide vitamin D3 under the shed of vitamin D. They should write the ingredient name saying sheep grease.

Because vitamin D3 is produced from sheep grease. It would be more transparent for the customers this way. Other cereals also have the same ingredient as vitamin D3 which comes from lanolin that is sheep grease. 

Is there any alternative to Rice Krispies?

Rice Krispies is a name of a brand that’s just a cereal made with rice and all. There are cheap alternatives to it in the market.

You just need to find cereals that do not contain vitamin D. if there is no vitamin D in the cereal that means it does not contain lanolin.

It will be a bonus if the cereal you are buying has ‘suitable for plant-based diet’ written on it.

But it’s rare to find this in the normal grocery store. If you have a special shop for vegans nearby then stock up some cereals in your pantry.

The Nestle Cereal Harvest Home Crisp Rice is a great option if you can find it in your nearby store. It has all the other necessary nutrients but not those with an animal product.

Vitamin D is not on its ingredient list. The sugar used in the cereal is also vegan friendly which is another plus point. 

Best Vegan Shampoo

How do I get my vitamin D?

When I said to avoid all the cereal that has vitamin D you may think to yourself how you are going to have it. The deficiency of vitamin D can cause a deficiency of calcium and phosphate. Because you cannot absorb calcium and phosphate without vitamin D.

For that you can sit in the morning sun for an hour obviously after applying sunscreen. Sun is a great source of vitamin D.

Eating mushrooms will also add to your vitamin D supply. Also, there are plenty of vitamin D supplements that are suitable for vegans. Just do your research and find the best one. 

Final thoughts

Cereal is one of the most popular breakfasts in the world. The reason is not unknown. We all want some quick fix for our mornings.

There is vegan milk available but it’s hard to find vegan cereal. If you are tired of looking for a vegan option of cereal then try oatmeal, avocado toast, or a bowl of grains. Trust me, it will be a lot more filling than just having cereal full of sugar.

Best Vegan Shampoo

Also Read:

Similar Posts