Is Oatmeal Vegan?

Breakfast is the most important meal of the day. It must be nutritious and delicious at the same time. 

Oatmeal is a great breakfast option. But vegans get confused if Oatmeal vegan or not.

The Answer is Yes, Oatmeal is Vegan.

But it depends on how it’s made. When you get 100% oatmeal, it’s entirely vegan. But not if it comes pre-made from restaurants or some instant ones. We will learn more if oatmeal is vegan or not. Let’s get started.

Is Oatmeal Vegan

What is oatmeal?

The first thing we feel hearing about oatmeal is that it is a meal made of oat. This is precisely what it sounds like. It’s just like a porridge dish, but we can make porridge of quinoa, millet, and stuff like that. But oatmeal is only made from an oat plant. 

An old-style oatmeal recipe will be served hot from the pan. The liquid and gooey texture is a peculiar thing for oatmeal. Overnight oats are high, too, if you are making it correct.

What is the source of oatmeal?

We get our oatmeal from hulled oat grains named as groats. There are three unique types of oatmeals. There is a rolled oatmeal that is found as thick or thin. We know the ground ones as white oats. And there is steel-cut oatmeal that is coarse. Steel-cut oats have a chewy texture and take a longer time to cook. But you will get more nutrition to enjoy it.

The instant oats are the ones that are dried before rolling thinly. That is why they take no time to cook at all. It’s arguably the least healthy among all these oats types. The word oatmeal is used in America, and Canada usually refers to porridge made from oats. But that does not stop the universe from enjoying this nutritious food.

Vegan Oatmeal

Is oatmeal vegan?

As said earlier, oatmeal comes from grain. And that makes oatmeal 100% vegan

But some instant oatmeal comes pre-made mixed with dairy or butter. That will not be vegan. So always read the ingredients and label. Because it’s the best thing, you can do to know what you are eating.

Are Quaker oats vegan?

When we talk about oats, a picture of Quaker man comes to mind. It’s that popular singularly in the oats world. The 140 years of business have paid off because people know oats through this company. But is it vegan? Yes, it is. The Quaker oat does not contain any animal-derived product in it.

Is oatmeal healthy?

Oatmeal is made from nutritious grain, and that automatically makes it healthy. It’s a gluten-free grain that celiac people can enjoy. Oats have magnesium, thiamin, zinc, phosphorus, manganese, and selenium. Oats are rich in fiber and protein. The fiber found in there is called beta-glucan, which is a blessing for people with high blood pressure and diabetes. Oats are known to people for their contribution to diet for weightless. As it keeps the tummy full for hours, it helps you not feel famished.

Oatmeal is a complex carb. It has a low glycemic index. 

It releases sugar in our body over a long time. So it helps to balance the blood sugar level. Your sugar level will not be spiking or crashing instantly. Experts suggest more old-fashioned oatmeal to eat if you want to get 100% enjoyment of it. The instant ones provide the least amount of nutrition, to be honest.

A vegan oats recipe

Oats are already a superfood. You can mix it with some tasty fruits to make it taste even better. Prepare your overnight oats with almond milk, put some banana, and some chia seed. And there is always room for other fruits like mango or some nuts and seeds. Some people find oatmeal to be bland, and they are not wrong. But eating it with certain fruits and the right recipe can make it better.

Final thoughts

Oatmeal is vegan. Now that you are sure about it, eat that delicious treat in the morning. And do not miss on your nutrition. Just be sure to check the label before buying, and you are safe. Veganism is a conscious lifestyle choice. I hope you are enjoying the journey and going to keep believing that animal lives matter.  

Interesting Read:

Leave a Comment