Is Guar Gum Vegan?

Guar gum is used as additives in a lot of our foods. We frequently face a question if guar gum is vegan or not. Guar gum is a type of polysaccharide which is a complex curb well known in the food industry. There is some confusion about it being vegan because there are some industries that use it as a binder in meat or thickener for yogurt and kefir.

Due to this use of guar gum, it’s normal to feel skeptical about it. But we are going to address all the issues and try to remove your doubts about if the guar gum vegan or not.

Guar Gum Vegan

Is Guar Gum Vegan?

Yes, guar gum is vegan. It’s because guar gum is extracted from the guar plants. We get the ground up version of the endosperm of guar beans, which we call as guar gum.

The seeds of guar gums turn into amazing additives that make any vegan food better. As it is made from plant-based sources and does not have the animal or animal-derived product in it, we can be sure it’s vegan. 

Best Vegan Shampoo

Is organic guar gum vegan

Yes, definitely. Organic guar gum also comes from non animal sources, which makes it completely vegan. Organic guar gum comes from organic guar beans, which is the ideal food thickener for vegans.

Use of guar gum in vegan foods

Guar gum is a good stabilizer and a thickener. It works like tapioca flour and cornstarch in food. There are so many certified vegan foods that use this as their thickener. Guar gum tends to form hydrogen bonds in the water, and this lets all the magic happen. 

  • Vegan ice-cream

Homogeneity is very important in making ice cream. And its tough job when it comes to vegan ice cream. But gets so much easier when you add guar gum to it. We see homemade ice creams do not have a body that commercial ice creams have. There are so many certified vegan ice cream brands that use guar gum as additives. So you can be sure that guar gum is vegan indeed. 

  • Plant-based milk

Plant-based milk does not have a smooth texture as the cow or goat milk. Without any additives, you would get the benefit but wouldn’t taste as good as real milk. Guar gum is used in the plant-based milk to achieve that smooth texture. It is even used in low-fat cow milk for a smoother texture. 

  • Gluten-free pieces of bread

We all know that gluten is a great binder. But not all of us can digest it well. As bread is life and we cannot live without our bread and butter, guar gum is the savior. Because it works as a binder in the gluten-free loaves of bread. The web-like network that we use is because of the guar gum. 

Is guar gum harmful?

It’s a bit of yes or no. Guar gum is not as harmful as declared by the FDA. It is great for diabetes patients or those who have bowel related problems. But all these have to be in limitation. Because the overconsumption of guar gum is harmful, and that is why the FDA banned it on weight loss products. 

Best Vegan Shampoo

Similar things just like guar gum

Guar gum is available in the store if you look for it attentively. Even if you can’t find any in your country, there are so many options available for you. Here are some of the options.

  • Agar-agar

This one is also a plant-based binder used in a lot of desserts. Agar-agar is made from seaweeds. It is found better in the Chinese grocery store. If the recipe calls for guar gum, you can use agar-agar or vice versa. 

  • Xanthan gum

Xanthan gum works the same as guar gum. It is a binder that is used in many food products. It is produced through the bacteria fermentation process by glucose and fructose. It is vegan, but it has a grey area that vegans might want to stay away from. If you need guar gum but can’t find any, then opt for the xanthan gum. 

Final thoughts

Once again, is guar gum vegan? Yes, guar gum is absolutely 100% vegan. There is no doubt about that because it is extracted from the plant. Now you can enjoy your food without worries if it contains guar gum. It’s a tasty replacement of gelatin, and you will not miss anything about gelatin anymore.

Best Vegan Shampoo

Also Read:

Similar Posts