Is Gelato Vegan?

Who does not enjoy ice cream! Gelato is the Italian version of ice cream. It’s just smoother and softer in texture. The season of frozen treats is here. There are various recipes for gelato that you can try. It tastes more like frozen yogurt than ice cream.

The rich and sweet taste of gelato makes it hard to ignore it. Especially when you do not know, Is Gelato Vegan or not, let’s get to know all about gelato so that you can enjoy the delicacy without harming animals.

Is gelato vegan

What is gelato made of?

Gelato comes from the word gelatus, which means frozen. Gelato is made with less cream and more milk. This creates its super creamy texture. The American cream contains eggs, but gelato does not use any egg. But it’s still made of cream, sugar, and air.

Also Read: Are Tortilla Chips Vegan?

Is gelato vegan?

As the gelato is made of cream and milk in general, it is not vegan. But do not let your hopes go away because you still have a chance to enjoy the creaminess of gelato.

Because vegans have developed a vegan-ized recipe of gelato. So that you do not miss it, full-fat coconut cream in place of cream is enough to change the gelato to vegan.

How to make vegan gelato?

Holding yourself back from gelato is not an easy thing. In summer, we get different types of fruits that we can put in our gelato. All you need is full fat coconut cream to replace cream, egg, and milk.

You will find it easier to make vegan gelato than the normal one. It uses fewer ingredients, and the creamy texture of coconut milk makes it easy to form the texture of gelato.

Tips to follow for making a vegan gelato:

Forget about the calorie count:

The vegan gelato is made with full-fat coconut oil. It contains so much fat. But just for one day forget about the calorie count. Make sure the coconut cream you buy contains at least 60% coconut. Lower than that will not create as creamy as the others.

Also Read: Are Corn Tortillas Vegan?

Choose flavor as per your taste:

when you are making the vegan gelato, you are the one who controls everything. So use fruits that you like most so that the final product blows your mind. Coconut cream has a strong flavor, so whatever you are using as your flavor must have a strong flavor. Or you will only get the taste of coconut cream.

Chocolate and fruits are best for that matter. You may like vanilla a lot if you want to add it to your vegan gelato. But you may not get the flavor of it at all because the coconut cream will be stronger than the vanilla flavor. It will not be a bad thing if you like coconut cream, but you must try a different flavor.

You can try recipes with raspberry, passion fruit, or cherry. Fruits make everything better, and you will enjoy it too.
Bring the gelato at room temperature before serving: gelato is served at a warmer temperature, unlike ice cream. The creamy texture comes from that and makes the flavor taste so much better. Coconut milk freezes harder than milk cream. So you better bring it at room temperature twenty minutes before serving.

Also read: Is Oatmeal Vegan?

Does gelato contain gelatin?

Gelato sounds like it’s from the word gelatin. Gelatins are mostly not vegan. There are gelatos in the market that use gelatin, but there is an option available for you. You can choose brands that do not use it.

Final thoughts:

Dairy, sugar, and air make gelato such a creamy frozen treat. For vegans, it’s coconut milk, sugar, and air. One scoop of gelato feels like heaven on earth. If you do not want to go through the pain of making gelato at home, you can use the store-bought ones. Some companies make vegan gelato. This Italian dessert is making its place to the vegan people through its sweetness. And you should not lose the opportunity of tasting it.

Leave a Comment