In Middle Eastern cooking, hummus is very popular and loved by people all over the world. The recipe is very easy for such a tasty dish. All you need is boiled chickpeas, tahini, garlic, and little olive oil, salt, and lemon juice. Some people say hummus should have yogurt in it.
Like we all want to mess with recipes, you do not have to add yogurt if you want it to stay vegan. The market relies on so many animal products that you need to know what you are putting in your body.
So let’s see if hummus is vegan or not.
Also read: Is Onion Ring Vegan?
What is hummus?
Hummus is a Middle Eastern dip that tastes as good as it sounds. It’s not just delicious to eat. It’s packed with nutrients and benefits. If you are someone who looks for healthy food but does not want to compromise on the taste, then hummus will save your day.
Especially vegan people cannot find an excellent nutritious alternative to animal-derived foods. And they end up feeling weak when they start the vegan diet. It compels them sometimes even to give up because they find the food bland and less in portion. For them, hummus is a great option. The creamy blend of chickpeas, lemon, garlic, and all the other things that you can add for taste will win your heart.
What is hummus made of?
The base of the hummus is a can of chickpea. If you have time, then there is no better hummus than the one that uses freshly cooked chickpea. Then you need tahini if you do not have it. Use nut butter. All you need is a smooth paste of chickpeas, tahini, and two cloves of garlic, olive oil, and to make the tart balance juice of an entire lemon.
Add freshly grounded black pepper and a pinch of salt. And you are done with a tasty dip that you can serve with pita wedges or sliced vegetables. If you are a fan of sumac or other spices that makes food taste better, you can add all those.
Also Read: Is Guar Gum Vegan?
What is hummus served with?
As it’s a Middle Eastern dish, it has the style there too. Hummus is served with pita bread, some fresh vegetables like tomato, onion, and cucumber. If you are in the mood for something more, then serve some falafel with it.
Is hummus vegan?
Now that you know how hummus is made, you know that it does not use any animal-derived product. Nor is it involved in any farming that causes harm to the animals.
So hummus is vegan. But if you are eating hummus out, ask the waiter if it is vegan; some recipes like to add yogurt, which is not vegan. It is always better to be safe than sorry.
Is hummus good for health?
There are so many good things that we hear about hummus. One of the best things that, it helps with is inflammation. Inflammation is our body’s way of fighting an infection. But sometimes it works against us and harms us. The dish is excellent to fight that. The olive oil and garlic from hummus fight inflammation.
Another thing is that hummus is high in fiber. Fiber helps to improve gut health. It feeds the good bacteria from your gut and keeps them happy.
Hummus produces gut bacteria that get converted to butyrate, which is a fatty acid. The fatty acid nourishes our gut bacteria and helps lower the risk of colon cancer.
It also has a low glycemic index. It does not raise the blood sugar level. So you can have it without thinking much about your sugar level—such a tasty treat with such amazing benefits that anyone would love to have it.
Hummus is a food that is appropriate for everyone vegan or non-vegan. It’s gluten-free and packed with lots of nutrients. So no one would say no to this fantastic dish.
The next time your friends come over, keep hummus with other things, and everyone will love it. It takes only ten minutes to prepare and bring it to the table. So you can make it and enjoy the deliciousness at any time.